Only a few more paces and we can see the fascinating Old Tower (Zwinger) and the southern section of the town wall. The northern part of the tower is the continuation of the southern town-wall. Its base stands in the moat, the depth of which was 6-7 metres in the Middle Ages. From here we can have a glance at the filled up moat and the ruins of the New Tower or Corner Tower, then the front tower, the so-called Forintos-bastion of the castle and the outer castle-wall facing the moat. We can see traces of consoles even today on the outer castle-wall that may have held the pitch-poring balconies, probably built in the 14th century, from which hot tar and oil was showered on the besiegers. During the Turkish siege one of the explosions was successfully carried out in this section, proving that this was the weakest point pf the castle. Having broken through the outer wall, the aggressors wanted to get into the castle here but the barely 5 m wide wall helped the defenders. They “… rushed here in large numbers and, with shooting, throwing stones, using long beams to push their ladders away, expelled the Turks; even using oil." At this point the remains of the 26 yard section of the town-wall, ruined at the end of 1535, can also be seen.